Guest Post~Five Tips for Setting (and Reaching!) Your Running Goal

Five Tips for Setting (and Reaching!) Your Running Goal
Hello Better Late Than Never readers! My name is Katie and I blog over at Live Half Full. I started my blog in 2011 to track my progress as I trained for my first full marathon. Now, I blog to hold myself accountable as I attempt to maintain a healthy, balanced lifestyle as a new wife, Advertising Sales Executive, blogger, fairly consistent runner and newly obsessed yogi.
Today I’m taking over Laurie’s blog as part of the Elf for Health blog swap! 
 

image

When Laurie and I were discussing topics for me to write about, I asked her if there was anything she was struggling with and she mentioned that she has trouble sticking to a training plan for running. I’ve had quite the journey with running over the years and learned a lot from it, so I was happy to help!

Five Tips for Setting (and Reaching!) Your Running Goal

image

1. Set a goal that excites you: When I got the idea in my head that I wanted to run a half marathon, I signed up for my first 5k, 10k and half marathon all in one summer. The nervous excitement of reaching a goal that scared me pushed me to work hard to reach my goal.
2. Sign Up: One you set a running goal that excites you, sign up for a race! This locks you in, gives you a deadline and is probably the hardest step towards reaching your goal! It’s a huge first step that you can take without actually running. 😉
3. Figure out your why: I started running to give myself a deadline and a goal after struggling to stay motivated after graduating college. When I ran my first marathon, I raised over $6,000 in honor of my Mom for the JDRF and this pushed me to the finish line. Any reason is a valid reason to start running, but figuring out why you want to keep running will keep you going. Figure out why and use that reason to push you through your tough runs.
4. Learn what works for you: It took me a lot of trial and error to find out what works for me in terms of fueling, hydration and gear. Your training is the time to figure out what works for you so on race day you’ll be ready to go!
5. Don’t get in your own head: Your training is as much mental as it is physical.To me, being mentally prepared is the #1 thing you need before you do your first race. Squash those doubts and fill the space with positive thoughts.
Laurie, hopefully these tips will help you with setting new goals in 2014! And of course, thanks for letting me take over your space today!
If you have a minute, head over to Live Half Full and check out my daily attempts to stay balanced. You can also find me on Facebook,Twitter and Instagram! Looking forward to “meeting” you soon! And, if you have any questions about setting your new running goal feel free to email me at livehalffullblog@gmail.com
4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Posts of 2013 | Live Half Full

  2. Pingback: Workout Wednesday — Back In Action — Half Training #wowlinkup | Better Late Than Never

Leave a Reply

