~Fearless Friday~

Image

I did two things I’ve been afraid of so far today before 5AM…..

First~ I signed up for my very first 5k! Yes that’s right you heard me right FIRST 5 k! It’s for the Boys and Girls club, It’s local in my own town, and I have exactly 6 weeks to train. My goal is to run the whole 5 k with out walking NO MATTER how slow! To me this is a…. OMG I only have six weeks to train…but, NO I am changing my mindset! I have six whole weeks to train! Let the Training Begin!

Second~ I registered to get my CPR and First Aid Certification tomorrow. I have been putting this off or had plans on that day. I am just going for it and doing this tomorrow morning!

Image

Image via. The Tao Of Dana

I’m pretty excited. But I’ve got work to to! I’m great with HIITs, but running continuously, I am back at beginner mode! No worries I GOT THIS!

Image

My Giveaway ends in 4 days for The Pretty Muddy Race!

Image

Enter to win here ~ Pretty Muddy Race Giveaway

Running-Lessons

Now leave comments!!! What is your best running training tip?!?!!?

11 Comments

  1. Excited about your 5k! And thanks for reminding me that I too need to get CPR certified!!! Running training tip? You have six weeks for your 5k so I’d say go ahead and take a full rest day, then time yourself on your fastest 1 mile run (even if you walk or jog some of it). Plug that in to something like mcmillanrunning.com and see what training paces are good for shorter or longer runs. Just a general guideline for you, but I think it helps to put your running effort into relative context to know if pace is good for you. Good luck!

  2. Woo hoo! Your first 5k that’s awesome, I’m excited for you. You are going to do great, plenty of time to train. Advice? Make sure to stretch!!! Especially the calves/Achilles and IT band. They are the first to go once I start bumping up mileage. Good luck, can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. Enjoy your first 5K! After each run, be sure to STRETCH! Definitely the calves, quadriceps, and the hip flexors! I recommend incorporating yoga into your exercise reigmen (i.e. rest days), which includes stretching these muscles. My favorite poses are downward-facing dog, pigeon, and sun salutations. Also, invest in a foam roll! You won’t regret it! Ashley Bordon has an awesome guide to foam rolling: http://www.ashleyborden.com/images/AshleyBorden-RollingOut-8-12.pdf 🙂

Leave a Reply

