Thursday Thoughts — Talking Focus

Happy Thursday!

Definition Focus:

fo·cus
ˈfōkəs/
noun
noun: focus; plural noun: foci; plural noun: focuses
  1. 1.
    the center of interest or activity.
    “this generation has made the environment a focus of attention”
    synonyms: center, focal point, central point, center of attention, hub, pivot, nucleus, heart, core, cornerstone, linchpin, cynosure

    “schools are a focus of community life”
  2. 2.
    the state or quality of having or producing clear visual definition.
    “his face is rather out of focus
    synonyms: focal point, point of convergence

    “the resulting light beams are brought to a focus at the eyepiece”
    sharp, crisp, distinct, clear, well defined, well focused
    “submit only those snapshots that are in focus”
    blurred, unfocused, indistinct, blurry, fuzzy, hazy, misty, cloudy, lacking definition, nebulous
    “the shots are slightly out of focus, which gives them an eerie quality”
    • another term for focal point.
    • the point at which an object must be situated with respect to a lens or mirror for an image of it to be well defined.
    • a device on a lens that can be adjusted to produce a clear image.
  3. 3.
    Geometry
    one of the fixed points from which the distances to any point of a given curve, such as an ellipse or parabola, are connected by a linear relation.
verb
verb: focus; 3rd person present: focuses; past tense: focused; past participle: focused; gerund or present participle: focusing; 3rd person present: focusses; past tense: focussed; past participle: focussed; gerund or present participle: focussing
  1. 1.
    (of a person or their eyes) adapt to the prevailing level of light and become able to see clearly.
    “try to focus on a stationary object”
    • cause (one’s eyes) to focus.
      “trying to focus his bleary eyes on Corbett”
    • adjust the focus of (a telescope, camera, or other instrument).
      “they were focusing a telescope on a star”
      synonyms: bring into focus; More

      “she focused her binoculars on the tower”
    • (of rays or waves) meet at a single point.
    • (of a lens) make (rays or waves) meet at a single point.
    • (of light, radio waves, or other energy) become concentrated into a sharp beam of light or energy.
    • (of a lens) concentrate (light, radio waves, or energy) into a sharp beam.
  2. 2.
    pay particular attention to.
    “the study will focus on a number of areas in Wales”
    • concentrate.
      “the course helps to focus and stimulate your thoughts”
      synonyms: concentrate on, center on, zero in on, zoom in on; More

      address itself to, pay attention to, pinpoint, revolve around, have as its starting point
      “the investigation will focus on areas of social need”
    • Linguistics
      place the focus on (a part of a sentence).

 

It really is thought provoking to look at the whole definition for the word
– Focus – I realized that this is what I have been doing as I reflect on this Month & Year, thus far.
I have been centering my attention on one area of my life at a time. My “focus” as a whole; as part of my life is out of balance.
But, I am working on it.
From this point forward, I am going to look at the picture (of life,) as a “whole.”  Yes, in the moment I can only focus on one thing at a time. Instead of trying to do everything in each moment, I need to take each moment separately, but by looking at the picture as a whole.  Each moments focus, building on one another, in order to achieve my desired outcome… Balance.
Focusing my energy in each moment. One task at a time. One day at a time.  I get it. However, at the very least I have to change my focus from moment to moment to other areas of my life. In the Book The Artist’s Way, by Julia Cameron, she talks about “The life of Pie,” keeping all the areas in your life balanced. For example; what good is putting all my focus on school work if my health area is out of balance, or my financial area is out of balance? What about time for my family?
So, my end goal is to get this circle in balance.
index
I can’t do everything at once. I know that, I tried “Superwoman Syndrome,” I just need to grab a flashlight and shine it on my life and figure out how to get this circle balanced out, and I can start by upping my level of focus in each moment.

average

#BOOM

Focus

So, there it is my early morning ramblings of bringing more focus to each area and every moment of my life, but by looking at the whole picture.

I took a week off a lot of things, after I got back from my vacation. — I had a electronic break for a couple days while I was away. Then when I came home, I have been working on limiting my time with my electronics. I also, had a bad slip on the ice on Monday, and have been taking it very easy! Add in the fact, I’ve kind of had a cold, and just overall not feeling great. So, I gave myself permission to rest. But, what is weird; in the middle of this rest, I am actually getting a lot of stuff done. But, I feel very off balance. Maybe, it “IS” Mercury Retrograde that is affecting me! So, I am taking some downtime… to focus on balancing out that circle. Just getting all my “mental ducks” in a row, so when my energy gets back, I will be ready.

This isn’t going to be that hard. Just a little focus on each area, “everyday,” this focus can go a long way!

Moment By Moment.

 

Leave a Reply

